Wherein Your Humble Narrator Bitches and Moans: WordPressin’ 3

Entering the fourth week of the WordPress class with Lorelle, I feel I have a tangible growth of technical knowledge about what the WP site can do for a blogger. Normally, tangible growths are not a good thing. But this one seems to be expanding my mind, so we’ll see how it goes.

(This article is in a series! If you missed the first two, click here for part one, and here for part two. Click nothing to continue reading part three….)

Though I’m in my second quarter of Web Dev courses, I still feel more like a writer than a coder. All the programming minutiae are seeping through my layers of tech-idiocy, but its still not intuitive to me. I’m still stuggling to do simple screen captures and the like. So the article I’m working on for our class site is distinctly more text heavy than the other students. Theirs are loaded with snazzy graphics and even animations that I grasp how to do mentally, but wrestle with in practicality. Beginning to wonder if I’m wrong in my approach to this degree.

So some of the student articles are posted now on the class blog. As an “editor”, I get to preview the posts and tweak them around before they get published. Only three of us volunteered to be editors at first. But now everyone in the class has the status of an editor, so I really don’t know what it means. I’ve mainly been focussing on completing my own article and trying in vain to get decent screen captures. Today, I intend to go in to the site and go through whatever’s there in “pending” and fuck with stuff….I mean, “edit”.

We also turn in assignments on each different aspect of WordPress. We’ve done different formats of posts….we’ve done galleries(mine is really crappy)….we’ve done video posts….links to other sites….etc. Every assignment gets turned in to Lorelle by submitting a link on the course Moodle page. Moodle, for those who read this that are outside our class, is the online interface for classes taken at Clark College. Moodle, to put it in the most polite terms I can, is a glitchy bitch. It’s just as likely to delete modules as update them. Not only students but instructors tussle with this motherfucker. Clark is transitioning to Canvas–in fact, one of my classes this quarter is in Canvas already–but Moodle is the creature that won’t die. Except when you’re submitting assignments.

Anyway, that’s a whole different rant. Although I don’t talk about them much, I’d like to say a little about the other students taking this class. We come into this from a ton of different perspectives. (A ton, well, maybe twenty. There’s only about twenty of us.) Some of these guys are already making websites. Some are working in JavaScript and beyond, so WP’s HTML is kindergarten stuff to them. In our group are also artists and photographers. I’m especially jealous of the graphically oriented people. They seem to live for all the widgetry and shit on WordPress. While I have an appreciation for whizz-banging up my site and all, I don’t really spend too much energy on that aspect. As I say over and over, I’m more of a word man. The content currently drives my blog, not the looks.

That being said, I do hope to get better at the graphical aspect of blogging, and I’m going to keep plugging away at it. I do love the really beautiful blog pages that people put up on WP. If the scandalously great-looking blogs (you know who you are, motherfuckers) are A plusses, I would have to give mine about a C plus. Of course, sometimes bitchin’ appearances mask a shallow heart. Putting both together: a gorgeous design with exceptional content seems to be Lorelle’s ultimate goal with this class. I’m making it mine, too.

Or maybe I should just get a collaborator….

That’s all for now. Next time, I may get more specific instead of just rambling. Or, I may not. Who knows?

Read Part Four

4 thoughts on “Wherein Your Humble Narrator Bitches and Moans: WordPressin’ 3

  1. I hear you echoing some of my own thoughts, even though I don’t really approach this class as a writer. I like reading your writing (you are great at it), and I don’t think there is anything wrong with your content-driven approach.

    • Thanks, Jesse. Sometimes I just feel like I’m in the wrong place. It’s hard not to notice that most of the class articles were driven by the graphics, and my article was a thousand words with, like, one image! Kind of got a laugh out of it, though. See you in class tonight.

  2. I enjoyed your writing style Dylan, you need an assistant like my Dad ;). I just phone him up and say ‘how do I put music recordings on?’ and he goes off to find out. How do I put videos on? Etc. how do I put stars on my photo? lol. He teaches me how to do it though but it saves time 😉

    • I am definitely looking out for collaborators, a thing taking college courses is good for. The graphically-oriented people that I am so envious of are sometimes envious of my words! Amazing how life pushes people together. No one needs to go it all alone….

You Know You've Got Something to Say...

