Liebster, mein liebchen

So someone nominated my blog for the Liebster Award. During my research (a whole article!) I discovered that this is both a real, and imaginaward memes are comingary thing. It exists only because bloggers decide that it exists. I mean that no “Liebster Commission” is going to come to my door like I won the Publishers’ Clearing House and present me with anything. To be nominated means you’ve been nominated.  And that’s all it seems to mean. Nothing else comes with this. I can copy an image of the award and stick it on my site as if I have accomplished something. Or…one can choose not to acknowledge the thing…. though the article I perused gives diresome warnings about pissing off well-intentioned award-bestowers and losing readers by this type of anti-social behavior.

major award

Bestowing the Liebster is a way of welcoming a new blogger to the larger community. So in that spirit, I suppose I will acknowledge it. My research pointed out to me that the Liebster also brings with it a responsibility. For one thing, I have to pass it on, like a chain letter. Well, wait, here’s a list of rules that I have copied and pasted from my research(the one article). It’s by Lorraine Reguly:

{If you have been nominated for The Liebster Award AND YOU CHOOSE TO ACCEPT IT, write a blog post about the Liebster award in which you:
1. thank the person who nominated you, and post a link to their blog on your blog.
2. display the award on your blog — by including it in your post and/or displaying it using a “widget” or a “gadget”. (Note that the best way to do this is to save the image to your own computer and then upload it to your blog post.)
3. answer 11 questions about yourself, which will be provided to you by the person who nominated you.
4. provide 11 random facts about yourself.
connery gives a fuck
(Sorry, had to break that up. Go on, Lorraine)
5. nominate 5 – 11 blogs that you feel deserve the award, who have a less than 1000 followers. (Note that you can always ask the blog owner this since not all blogs display a widget that lets the readers know this information!)
6. create a new list of questions for the blogger to answer.
7. list these rules in your post. (You can copy and paste them from here.)
Once you have written your post, and published it, you then have to:
8. Inform the people/blogs that you nominated that they have been nominated for the Liebster award and provide a link for them to your post so that they can learn about it (they might not have ever heard of it!)
I would like to add that you can nominate someone who already has been given this award, as long as they have less than 1000 followers/subscribers. The idea behind this award is to recognize new bloggers and help promote them! The benefit is that you get from doing this is that you get some promotion, too! (Think about it, if they are obligated to link to you, then whomever lands on their site could also click the link and land on yours. If you multiply the number of people who can potentially  see and land on your blog, you can clearly see that you will get more readers, more business and reach more people. This is just another way to help get your blog “out there”!) :) }
Well, thanks, Lorraine Reguly, at Lorraine Reguly’s Life for these rules. And also, THE FUCK???????????
I need to do all that? I’ve barely been posting twice a week on here. Now I’m obligated to do a post I didn’t even plan!
I am an award winner
Well, let’s plod through these points:
1) First, let me thank my rewarder/awarder. Queenzdesire12 splattered me with the Liebster out of nowhere. As long as it was sincerely meant, let me graciously thank you for the attention. I’m confused, but grateful.(?)
2) I’m not going to paste the Liebster image on my blog. I might break it. Just the thought of the award will sustain me.
3) Queenie didn’t ask any questions of me, so I don’t feel obligated to do that part.
4) I could do the eleven random facts about myself, but don’t we do that with every post? Just read between the lines, dear readers! But I think I will do this at another time, in another post. Stay tuned.
5) Who would I nominate for this honor? How about my entire WordPress class at Clark College? That’s about twenty blogs! You’re welcome, classmates! There’s no fucking way I’m putting up twenty links here, so, like myself, just the knowledge of the honor will have to sustain you all. And this:
shark high five
6) I will decline to list questions for my classmates, as they are all in the class with me and I know they have enough to do without me piling on.
7) See above for the rules. I’m not making any of this shit up, I assure you.
8) As for informing the blogs I have nominated….ah, fuck it. I’ll see you guys in class Tuesday.
So thank you, Queenzdesire12, for the nomination and reading my blog. Unless you’re spamming. It’s hard to tell nowadays. In closing, I’ll paraphrase a line from They Might Be Giants’ song “Man, It’s so Loud in Here”:
I am excited and confused.
16 thoughts on “Liebster, mein liebchen

    • Thanks! I think that bit of dialogue said in a few words what I meant to say in my usual verbose way. On my blog, a picture can mean a thousand words, but you’re also going to get the thousand words.

  1. Haha! It’s a Major Award! Loved that. Thanks for the laugh and good for you… I think. Unless you don’t give two twinkies in which case….well then what a wonderful post about jack squat. 🙂

  2. Here in Australia, a man was attacked and died as a result, the extraordinary aspect of this is, sharks have been here long before man arrived in Australia, the Australians are so dumb as for the past week have been hunting sharks to find the alleged culprits, the cost of the hunt is a cost that is paid by taxpayers, without going to deeply in to the neurotic folly of this hunt, if bathing in some waters in Australia, you are at risk! I support the wild life and man is at the bottom of the list in integrity.

    • Thanks! That’s a random comment! Did you read my post? I guess I did throw a picture of a shark in there…..
      Pug mixtape Neutra, shabby chic Brooklyn lo-fi kogi pickled farm-to-table master cleanse. Pour-over umami McSweeney’s, butcher organic PBR&B sustainable fingerstache slow-carb jean shorts Carles mlkshk tousled. Pug Terry Richardson lomo retro typewriter. Occupy Odd Future Etsy, Cosby sweater mixtape quinoa gastropub actually. Hoodie pug four loko, craft beer post-ironic plaid 8-bit. Retro sustainable vinyl flexitarian, cornhole aesthetic lo-fi before they sold out fashion axe sartorial single-origin coffee. Pop-up craft beer keffiyeh brunch.

  3. Thank you for clarifying the awards process. I can barely get posts typed and printed much less deal with all the nuances of accepting an award. I have very kindly been nominated a few times and deeply appreciate it, but I have no idea how to go about accepting one. Onward and upward!

    • Luckily, I’ve only gotten two awards! I’m not sure what I’ll write if there’s a next time. Maybe play it straight for a change?….no, I doubt that!

  4. Pingback: Mein WordPress Kampf part three: Award Season Never Ends Round Here | treatmentofvisions

  5. Pingback: Mein WordPress Kampf, part three: Award Season Never Ends Round Here | treatmentofvisions

You Know You've Got Something to Say...

