Rules of the Game

All I really wanted to do was blog every day for a month. Like a real blogger person thing. I figured to raise my readership and hoped to become a more efficient blogger person thing. To my surprise, people out there in InternetWorld were paying attention. Not only that, a few even said they wanted to participate.

It’s cool with me. The more the merrier. But now, folks want to know the rules of the game. What is the purpose of EveryDamnDayDecember? And did I copyright that term? (Let’s go with yes on that one.)

The purpose is really whatever you want it to be. I don’t really have a theme that I’m going for here. On this blog, I write about what I want to write about. I rarely go off an outside prompt except in indirect ways. I like what I like and I do what I do. I’m not sure I’m qualified to be anyone’s WordPress guide, though I do play that role from time to time.

So let’s call today the start of EvDaDaDec open enrollment. Since I didn’t give much advance notice, anyone who would like to do this can start NOW. There’s no minimum length and no topic restriction. Anything goes. Just blog every damn day and we’re good.

As for the rules: there are no rules.

Okay, there’s one.

What do you win for posting every damn day? I don’t know yet. Maybe nothing but the satisfaction of the blogging itself. And I think blogging and virtue are their own reward or something. Maybe I’ll let you paste one of my pictures of the Cumberbatch on your sidebar. (That didn’t sound a bit sexual!)

Anyway, let’s go for it! And if you use the phrase EveryDamnDayDecember or EvDaDaDec, just pingback to me. I’ll start putting up the blog addresses of all the participants. Please be patient with me as we go. I’m going to try to comment back to everyone and read and like your posts, but it takes time because I’m doing finals projects this week, too.

Tomorrow I’m going to post WordPressin’ 9. Check out those other posts if you want to catch up with the story.

Look at that! Another damn day in the books. Well done, myself.

(And you guys, too.)

8 thoughts on “Rules of the Game

  1. Love the cumberbatch idea! πŸ™‚ I will admit that I have said I would do these “every day” or “31 days” things in the past, but I have never made it through to the end, so if I do this, it will be a first. But, I’m going to really try to do it this time. Even if it is short and sweet a few of the days – or even pics only! Thanks for the inspiration!

  2. Hey, it was a great idea! Especially after NaNo. I wasn’t the only one who suddenly didn’t know what to do with myself any more. And having a mild swear word in the name helps tremendously! Well done, Dylan! πŸ˜€

You Know You've Got Something to Say...

